Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Do I rneed a voltage regulator?

silverfox

Mar 31, 2012
I am not very experienced at circuit design but I am designing a circuit that I hope will become part of a low-cost commercial product of my own design. Consequently, I am trying to keep component count to a bare minimum. My question is, if my gadget has its own 3V CR2032 coin battery which powers a microcontroller, EEPROM, RTC, and some optoisolators, is there any need for a voltage regulator? Can I get away just leaving it out?

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
What are the voltage and current requirements of the circuit? That is, what voltage range will they work over. If say, it's 3 V plus or minus a volt then there shouldn't really be any problem
Have you worked out how long the circuit is going to last on a CR2032 ?

Dave

silverfox

Mar 31, 2012
How to best switch 5V with a 3V circuit?

A circuit for a commercial gadget I am designing only requires 3V but one of the functions of the circuit is to occasionally supply +5V to a jack into which an external device is plugged. When the user wants to use that device, they plug an external battery pack into a jack on my gadget and the application program in my microcontroller turns the device on and off as required by switching the 5V supply. I am thinking that one way to do this is with a solid state relay that can switch the 5V on and off but can be operated entirely with 3 volts. But I wonder if this is the best solution. I am trying to make this circuit as inexpensive as possible since the end product needs to be very low cost and hopefully manufactured in high volume. Is there a better way than the relay?

silverfox

Mar 31, 2012
What are the voltage and current requirements of the circuit? That is, what voltage range will they work over. If say, it's 3 V plus or minus a volt then there shouldn't really be any problem
Have you worked out how long the circuit is going to last on a CR2032 ?

Dave