Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Help with upgrading a minifridge

Des

Aug 19, 2012
Hi, first time here. I am an extreme novice, I know enough to not hurt myself and I have good soldering skills, beyond that...

I have a mini fridge that uses a Peltier chip to lower the temperature. Said chip has burned out, and the unit which used to reliable cool to 40f now stays at 78f. I replaced the chip with one from a smaller, lower power cooler and could get the temps to 50f but no lower.

The original peltier in the fridge I am salvaging was 12v 50 watts. I bought a 12v 90 watt one a as replacement. The power supply for the fridge is 12v 6 amps and 75 watts. I have also used a converted PC psu at 12v 10 amps and 250 watts. The new peltier chip consumes 12v 5 amps 90 watts, the original peltier in this is 12v 5 amps 50 watts.

When the 90 watt peltier is installed the relays for the fridge (it has a thermostat in it) click continuously and will not fire up the fans or peltier. When the lower wattage chips are in the fridge starts up fine. So, obviously the 90 watts is drawing more than the fridges thermostat circuitry can supply. Here's where I get lost: Now, do I need to increase voltage or amperage or wattage, or replace a component on the circuit board?

I prefer having the thermostat as it switches the unit on and off thus somewhat increasing efficiency. Also the built in system is much more elegant than anything I can come up with.

Hooking the cooling fan, peltier and circulating fan directly to the psu everything works fine, but runs continuously.

I suppose I can also remove all headaches by buying the correct chip which are under $10, but I am trying to work with parts now on hand.

Any insights or suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Des

Last edited:

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
I suspect that your 90W peltier device draws more that 5A at 12V.

12V 5A is 60W
12V 10A is 120W