Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Switch question

onestep

Sep 20, 2012
Hello Guys and Girls!

New to the forum, complete newb with electronics.

Quick question

I own this switch right now and its part of a guitar circuit, but I dont like the aesthetics of the switch (size and colour)

T - 180T SALECOM

Pos 1 (ON) Middle (Off) Pos 3 (ON)
3A 250VAC 5A 125VAC

http://www.salecom.com.tw/prdshowcase.asp?Source=Products.asp&prdCatalogNo=T80-T&prdClassNo=001

So i was wondering if there is any way I could wire this type of switch to do the exact same thing (safely that is, as it plugs into a summing board for a piezo system)

http://www.guitarelectronics.com/product/SWT31-12/3-Way-Guitar-Toggle-Switch-Black-Chrome.html

So if anyone knows how and could provide a diagram of how to wire it, it would be greatly appreciated! I anticipate that a couple responses will say just buy a bigger switch with the same configuration, but I am after a very specific aesthetic, and cant for the life of me find something that is the same configuration, that looks like the switch I would like to use.

Thanks!

CocaCola

Apr 7, 2012
The drawing on the 'new' switch leaves a little to be interpreted, but this is what I suspect would work... You could verify this with a continuity tester or multimeter if you have one...

Assuming it physically fits this should get you up and running...

attachment.php

Attachments

• switch.jpg
    switch.jpg
    7.7 KB · Views: 481

onestep

Sep 20, 2012
Your a life saver! Thank you!

Do you think this is a safe modification to make? Given that this plugs into a summing board ect ect? Also the new switch doesn't seem to post any specifications regarding amperages and voltages. The summing board utilizes 9V, do you think the new switch is capable of handling said volts/amps?

With that being said could I just check with an ohmmeter that the results are verbatim for both switches depending on switch position, and then its safe to say its safe? haha