Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Op Amps

Rob_K

Sep 20, 2013
Hi Guys,

Could someone please explain to me what you would use an op amp for, like real world application? I have been studying them for 3 years, and can give you the circuit diagrams of inverting and non inverting op amps, I can calculate the voltages and gains of them, but no one seems particularly happy to tell you what they are used for. and now it has come to the point that I get asked that in a job interview, and I don't know the answer.

Please help me on this one.

BobK

Jan 5, 2010
Off the top of my head:

Oscillators (sawtooth, square wave, sine wave)
Audio preamp
Active filters
Tone controls
Scaling and offsetting a voltage
Constant current sources
Voltage regulators
Voltage to current / current to voltage converters
Schmitt trigger
Ideal rectifier
Ramp generator
Driver stage for push-pull output of audio power amp

Basically, almost any analog circuit can use op amps.

Bob

Rob_K

Sep 20, 2013
At last, a great understandable answer! That's perfect, I finally have something to work with now, thank you Bob.

Rob_K

Sep 20, 2013
Ok, I have a curious question now, as I am really not up on signal processing, but what would be the point of having the output of an op amp going into a Digital to Analogue Converter?

The output of an op amp is, I assume essentially analogue. The only thing I can think of is that from what I have learned about Op amps is that they can produce a square wave of sorts, could this then be used as a source for binary to then be processed for a clean signal? is it used as a buffer of sorts? and yes I did mean DAC not ADC.

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
Ok, I have a curious question now, as I am really not up on signal processing, but what would be the point of having the output of an op amp going into a Digital to Analogue Converter?

Can you show us an example?

Rob_K

Sep 20, 2013