Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Simplest antenna for 5.8GHz 200mW transmitter to allow 100M range

shumifan50

Jan 16, 2014
I have Boscam TX5832 transmitter with above specs that I want to install in a mini quadrcopter. I only need a range of about 100-150 meters, so hopefully I won't need an elaborate antenna. Weight and size is of great importance here as the lift and available space is VERY limited,

On one of the RC forums a 12.3mm piece of wire was suggested. I have NO RF knowledge(and little electronics really, especially analogue), so I have no idea whether this will work and how it connects. Do I just solder it to the antenna pin? Does it not need to be connected to ground somehow as well? The transmitter has no documentation with it(China special but popular for First Person View in quadcopters). Some of the web pages warn that running it without an antenna will fry the board, so I want to get this right. I have some 5.8GHz clover leaf antenna, but they are huge for this installation.

I found this: length in meters =300 / frequency in MHz
Divide the result by 4 to get a quarter wave antenna.

In my case: 300/5800 = 0.051724138 meter = 51mm for full wave
0.051724138 / 4 = 0.012931034 = 12.9mm for quarter wave
That seems to make the suggested length of 12.3mm wrong.
How critical are these lengths? It looks like very critical. 5.8GHz is really the middle freq of 8 channels, so not dead accurate.
Does the thickness of the wire matter? Will a piece of bell wire do the job?

In the calculation, what makes the 300 the magic number?
Found the answer to the last question: It is the speed of light in m/s divided by 1000000 so the frequency can be expressed in MHz(rounded a little).
To be pedantic the equation is 299 792 458 / 5800000000 = 0.051688355 m

Last edited:

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
300 is the number of millions of kilometres light can travel in a second.

You only need to be accurate to about 0.1mm at this frequency. Preferably a little better.