Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Battery charging and output voltage regulating please help

Maskot

Aug 7, 2013
I have a project that I've setup and it works from a power adapter and it takes a 12V input. I want to go wireless so I'll need to setup a battery system.

My question are as follows:

1. How do I link up rechargeable batteries in parallel so that they all charge fully without any problems?
2. How do I regulate the output voltage of the batteries to be 12V?
3. How do I setup a system that will allow me to charge the batteries and deliver the regulated voltage to the project at the same time?

I'm a complete noobie and don't know how to do any of this, the only things I can do are solder and put things together.

Useless image to put a visual to my ramble. Thank you if you can help.
Untitled.png

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
Perhaps the easiest way is to use your external adapter to charge the batteries and the batteries to power the equipment. The battery's voltage would be regulated with a regulator.

Without knowing what type of batteries you want to use, all I can suggest is that you use a charger that is appropriate for the type of batteries you choose.

If your batteries have a large change in voltage between fully charged and fully discharged, then a switch mode regulator will likely be more efficient. Remember that your batter voltage must always be higher than the voltage your circuit requires, or the regulation will be either complex or just plain won't work. With switching regulators you can also increase the voltage, but in this case the battery voltage should always be less than the voltage your circuit requires.

Maskot

Aug 7, 2013
Perhaps the easiest way is to use your external adapter to charge the batteries and the batteries to power the equipment. The battery's voltage would be regulated with a regulator.