Maker Pro
Maker Pro

How can I splice a barrel jack extension cord (DC) without blowing anything up?

Blue_Dragon360

Oct 13, 2014
TL;DR: I need to splice two different barrel connectors together, to create an extension cord of sorts.

First I would like to state that I am quite new at electronics in general, so I apologize if I'm missing some concepts entirely xD

I've been trying to deal with this for the past few days, and I've decided to ask online because I am completely stuck. I am attempting to put a Raspberry Pi inside an old NES case (not an original idea, but I thought it would be a fun opportunity to learn more about the hardware section of electronics), and I am having trouble with the power source.

The USB hub I'm using (which powers everything inside the case) has a barrel jack DC adapter thingy. The USB hub's manufacturer assured me that the barrel port size was 2.1mm x 5.5mm, so I went ahead and ordered an extension cord for that size, as well as the USB hub. I was planning on using the female end of the extension cord as a port running from the inside to the outside for the adapter, plugging the male end of the extension into the hub (and the male end of the outside power adapter into the port I'm making on the NES, of course).

Like so:
|
HUB<-----< <-----=
|
Where | is the NES wall, <> are female and male ports (depending on where they're pointing in relation to the wire) and = is the DC adapter (and connecting cord).

Sadly, it's not that simple. Problem is, the manufacturer didn't know what the heck they were talking about. The port was nowhere near 2.1mm x 5.5mm when I bought it, so I went to RadioShack to see if I could figure out the right size. I believe it is a weird proprietary size, so I'm unable to find an extension cord to act as a port.