Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Help, connecting a 3-position/2-Pole Slide switch

Thomas B

May 23, 2015
Hi

I'm trying to swap out a small 3-way position sliding switch on a PCB with a bigger and more sturdy one.

I am new to electronics and because of this I approached the task in a somewhat logic way: the small 3-way switch on the PCB has 8 legs, hence I would need to swap it out with another 8 legged switch.

First I desoldered/removed the small slide switch and hooked up the PCB again.
My test confirmed that the PCB with no switch attached to it was in "Center" mode

I then wired up the replacement switch and soldered it on to the PCB

Sadly this did not work as I had hoped:
Left position work
Center position work (but as the PCB by default is in "Center" I'm not too sure)
Right position do not work - the PCB is in "Center" :(

Pic of small 3-way switch on PCB and removed:
3waypos-small.jpg

Replacement switch:
http://www.guitarelectronics.com/pr...ft-2-Way-ONON-Guitar-Slider-Switch-Black.html
3way_slider_black.jpg

sws3connections.jpg

Soldered on like this (NOT WORKING):
switch-not-ok.jpg

Do anyone know how I should connect the wires to the pins on the new switch to get this working ?

/ Thomas

gorgon

Jun 6, 2011
Could it be that your original switch was a 2P3T, or a dual 3-way selector? 1 an 5 would then be the common, switching between the 3 other. The best is to check out the old switch to see how it is switching.

ramussons

Jun 10, 2014
Last edited:

Thomas B

May 23, 2015
Could it be that your original switch was a 2P3T, or a dual 3-way selector? 1 an 5 would then be the common, switching between the 3 other. The best is to check out the old switch to see how it is switching.
Thank you for your reply.

I'm afraid I not skilled enough to check small original switch properly, but you may very well be right about the 2P3T thing

Brgds, Thomas

Last edited:

Thomas B

May 23, 2015
No, this switch will not replace a 3 position.