Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Negative Spike Voltage

Kurte Moyo

Dec 28, 2015
Hello there! I am doing my thesis today and I want to know if what circuit is suitable for filtering the negative spike voltage. Out thesis is regarding the Sudden acceleration of the vehicles, and one cause of it is the negative spike voltage entering the A/D Converter. We want to design a circuit that will filter / neglect the negative spike voltage coming from the battery and the sensors. We are also open to any suggestion that will help us regarding our topics. Thank you and God bless!!

BobK

Jan 5, 2010
Really? I thought the research indicated that sudden acceleration was generally caused by a driver hitting the accelerator when they thought they were hitting the brake. Can you link to anything that says it is negative voltage spikes?

Bob

GPG

Sep 18, 2015
Sudden acceleration of the vehicles, and one cause of it is the negative spike voltage entering the A/D Converter.
What kind of vehicle? Electric? So many questions, so little information.

Alec_t

Jul 7, 2015
You could perhaps use a series resistor and Schottky diode to clamp the A/D input to within ~0.3V of the ground rail.

Kurte Moyo

Dec 28, 2015
Really? I thought the research indicated that sudden acceleration was generally caused by a driver hitting the accelerator when they thought they were hitting the brake. Can you link to anything that says it is negative voltage spikes?

Bob
Sir Bob according to the article " A more Detailed Electronic Mechanism for SUA" of Ronald A. Belt he said that "
Sudden acceleration has been observed in all makes and models of automobiles having electronic
throttles. This includes hybrid electric vehicles, which have an internal combustion engine (ICE) that
uses an electronic throttle. The author has developed an electronic theory of sudden acceleration which
explains the cause of sudden acceleration in all vehicles having electronic throttles