Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Burglar alarm - Can it be done ?

moca111

Dec 13, 2015
Hello,
Guys I'm pretty new to electronics, i have some basics skills. I'm wondering how could I realize this.
I'm have a alarm that plugs into A/C socket. It's the basic one with the keypad for your password combination. I'm finding it very unpractical. What I want is to make ti arm on and off with a key chain that has a button, so I don't have to type the combination on the keypad.
I'm wondering is there maybe some kit that i could buy and solder it in ? Or what would you suggest ?
Thanks.

CDRIVE

Hauling 10' pipe on a Trek Shift3
May 8, 2012
I don't think an opinion can be given without more information. Bare minimum: photos of the device and or link to the product page.

Chris

Osmium

Jan 28, 2013
I suggest that you ring the supplier/manufacturer and ask if they have an alternative to their keypad entry system.

ChosunOne

Jun 20, 2010
"It's the basic one with the keypad for your password combination."

That's kind of like saying your car is the one with a steering wheel, and foot pedals for accelerating and braking. There are a lot of different manufacturers, and alarm systems have evolved a lot over the years. A manufacturer name and model number would be extremely helpful here.

Is the keypad separate from the control panel, or physically part of it?

Is it a simple 2 or 3-prong power plug that plugs into line power, or is it a transformer that's plugged in? If a transformer, what are the ratings? (Voltage and VA / Watts?) If there's no transformer, then you have a hardware-store variety system that probably doesn't offer much in the way of options. If there is a board of labeled screw terminals, a good picture might show an option.

Gryd3

Jun 25, 2014
You could always rip it out and buy/install a cheap car alarm in the home...
They have remote keyfobs that let you arm/disarm, and the 12V can be easily supplied.
You would have to put up with the arm/disarm chirp though xD