Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Hello Everyone, Newbie here ! Need help repairing a amplifier.

LarryD98

Jan 11, 2016
I have a old Phase Linear 400 amp that has lost it's right channel. I have been working with others to try and repair it. I have tested the output transistors and they test good. The dcvoltage coming out of the right channel was 56volts. I am at a loss as to what is causing it. Maybe something failed on the board? Any help would be great thanks

Martaine2005

May 12, 2015
Hi Larry,
These appear to have a second name....Flame 400's!!
Have you checked for burnt resistors? That certainly seems to be a known fault with these amps.
Where are you measuring 56VDC from the right channel? These amps also have no output protection either.
Perhaps some nice clear close photos of the board would help.
Also what board is it? pl?

Martin

shrtrnd

Jan 15, 2010
Usually the first thing to fail on these amps are the big electrolytic capacitors. When they leak (electronically), circuits start failing.
My personal experience with single channel failures are the selector switches themselves. They get dirty or just plain wear out.
First thing I check is to make sure the speaker wires are tight and not crossed (shorting each other out), speaker fuses if so equipped, then I check the selection switches, then I open it up and look around.
Good luck.

elebish

Aug 16, 2013
You must be more specific. Where is the 56 volts coming from? "Was" or "is" coming from? Give us a link to the schematic and point out where the 56 is coming from. Is the negative 56 vdc good? Is this a stereo amp? Is it bridgeable? Ed.

LarryD98

Jan 11, 2016
Hi Larry,
Have you checked for burnt resistors? That certainly seems to be a known fault with these amps.
Where are you measuring 56VDC from the right channel? These amps also have no output protection either.

Martin
Martin, sorry that post was for you! I don't know what happened! Did you see it?

LarryD98

Jan 11, 2016