Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Soldering and veroboard HELP!!

nopuk

May 11, 2015
Hello,
So I am kinda new to all this, I have my circuit made out on a breadboard using those nice jumper wires and it all works perfect. So I went to my local place and bought 2 plates of "veroboard" ( board with holes and strips ). I have managed to screw up both plates, with messy solder blobs and burnt strips etc...

I am able to solder two copper wires together, and I know the nice shiny silver look it should have, but this veroboard soldering is hard.

First I am unable to solder either jumper wire or copper wire to the strips, the legs of a resister same thing. I tin the solder iron tip, place it one side of the component leg, and wait on the other side with my solder wire and wait wand wait - sometimes it works mainly by me taping the wire off the iron tip and hoping some sticks. As for soldering the wire to the veroboard strips - i have zero clue.

Anyone any help ? advice ?

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
hi there

First I am unable to solder either jumper wire or copper wire to the strips, the legs of a resister same thing. I tin the solder iron tip, place it one side of the component leg, and wait on the other side with my solder wire and wait wand wait

and therein lies your problem
You bring the iron tip to the point on the board to be soldered and add solder then so it flows around the component leg and copper track
here's a video for you .... this applies to ALL soldering

Dave

nopuk

May 11, 2015
Okay let me get this straight:
1) I have my thin insulted copper wire, i expose the end, twist the wires so they are nice and firm. Now I want to solder them to the veroboard. In my eyes the copper wire is just sitting there on the strip, where do i place the iron tip ?

2) Ditto for the component leg, I kinda get what you are saying, but I am unable to see an example that helps me on youtube, specifically for the power rails one.