Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Toggle Switch - Momentary Pulse Circuit (problem!)

KiwiElectronics

Jul 12, 2016
Hi I am new to all of this but I do have a breadboard and some stuff lying around so I thought I would give this a go!

I have want to use a toggle switch to "pulse" a keyboard key for use in a flight simulator however I just want to get it working with a LED for now!

I used the following diagrams to try and hook this up so when I flick the toggle switch the LED will blink momentarily (this will be a key press and release eventually) but it just does nothing! Have I got the wrong parts, have I messed up the wiring? Hopefully someone will know! The only difference I can see is that I am using a 5v power and relay.

The diagrams I followed where Keyboard is an LED:
Image12.gif

relay.jpg

My current setup:

5V 1.0AMP USB Power - iPhone Plug + USB Cable

5V SPDT Relay (RAYEX ELEC LU-5)
Purchased from http://www.maplin.co.uk/p/5v-dc-2a-spdt-sub-miniature-relay-n16aw

220uF 50V 105(degrees) Capacitor

On-Off-On Toggle Switches
https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B01DEM2...qid=1468357811&sr=sr-1&keywords=toggle+switch

mine.jpg

Are my parts all compatible? Do i need 12v power? I am so confused!!

If anyone could lend a hand that would be really appreciated!! I don't want to have to pay £40 for some board that pulses toggle switches for me, I'm more of a DIY kind of guy!

Last edited:

duke37

Jan 9, 2011
Perhaps the energy given by the 330μF capacitor is sufficient to light the led but insufficient to switch the relay.
You could use a 555 monostable to give a fairly hefty pulse.

KiwiElectronics

Jul 12, 2016
Perhaps the energy given by the 330μF capacitor is sufficient to light the led but insufficient to switch the relay.
You could use a 555 monostable to give a fairly hefty pulse.