Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Really Need Advice Making Micro Wind Farm

Robmcg

Nov 20, 2016
A Little About Me - I am a computer repair tech, so I have some very basic understanding of electricity (mostly measuring laptop chargers and dc jacks). I know more about coding than electricity but I own a multi-meter, so there's that. I also am comfortable enough with electricity to wire lights, thermostats and other random simple electronics.

What I Want To-do - Set Up a small micro wind farm on my balcony of my apartment. I already have idea's of how to make the turbines and wire them together and all that.

My Location - I am about 50-60 feet above the ground and just above the treetops on the upper side of a hill with lake Erie about 10 miles away. It is always windy on my balcony 10-40mph, I spend a good amount of time out there as I can't smoke in my apartment with my toddler, there is always strong winds except on the very rare days where it is a very subtle breeze.

My Goals Of This Project - To hopefully generate 1kw consistently (I know wind is not always consistent, I guess I mean average?) over a course of a month and use a grid tie in converter to supplement my energy bills.

My First Steps - Getting the generator's built and hopefully logging the load data to see how much power I am actually producing and see the high and lows before even hooking it up to my grid.

My Budget - Low budget project, 100-200 on generators, 100 on random parts for the mills handmade, 200 for grid tie.

My Questions - I have many so I will put them into a list

• How much electricity do I need to generate to cover my monthly bill? Here is a picture of my monthly energy usage from my electric company.
    dnhymb.jpg
  • Will the grid tie in protect from overload to the wall? If not what do I need?
  • Do I need to worry about overloading my grid tie in converter? If so, what I can I do about regulating my volt/amp to it?
  • Would this grid tie in converter work? Ebay Item Link