Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Best solution to clean touch screen replacement.

Kestas17

Jan 4, 2017
Hello everyone :)

I'm a newbie when it comes to fixing electronics. I need to clean a touch screen replacement for the T100TA Transformer book, but I'm not sure what solution to use. I dabbed a microfibre cloth in some warm water and tried to clean it, but suddenly I realized it was stupid thing to do.

I've read that best solution to clean electronics, such as screens was Isopropyl alchocol. Is that true? What advise can you give me?

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
I dabbed a microfibre cloth in some warm water and tried to clean it, but suddenly I realized it was stupid thing to do.

only if you used lots of water. a moist cloth is quite OK, and a drop or 2 of detergent wouldn't hurt

D

Hicham

Jan 5, 2017
I use WD40 for cleaning "almost everything... Give it a try!

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
I use WD40 for cleaning "almost everything... Give it a try!

Seriously ... NO !!
bad advice .... never use it on any optical product

Hicham ... you really use an oily product to clean things with ?? seriously ???

Hicham

Jan 5, 2017
Seriously ... NO !!
bad advice .... never use it on any optical product

Hicham ... you really use an oily product to clean things with ?? seriously ???
Yes i do and it works. For example: when replacing iphone's digitizer screen, i use wd40 to clean the glue off the screen and it works like magic. I think i should have mentioned that it's not used to mirror clean things rather to remove things.

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
Yes i do and it works. For example: when replacing iphone's digitizer screen, i use wd40 to clean the glue off the screen and it works like magic. I think i should have mentioned that it's not used to mirror clean things rather to remove things.

yeah so "clean" is the incorrect word huh !!
to remove the glue would have been better wording aye ;)

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
Yes. The interior side. It has glue and finger prints.