Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Super Simple Circuit questions

Jacob Johnson

Jan 4, 2017
Yes, I'm a noob. I just need a couple answers that I can't seem to find otherwise.
I'm trying to make a really simple and cheap (focus on quantity) circuit to turn on LEDs for a set period of time at the press of a momentary switch (push button, lights light up for 3 minutes or so, then turn themselves off).
So I need to know what I need to purchase, and how to put it together.

Arouse1973

Adam
Dec 18, 2013
You need a retriggerable monostable, these can be easily made using standard logic gates and some timing components such as resistors and capacitors, you should be able to find lots of circuits on Google.
Thanks
Adam

Herschel Peeler

Feb 21, 2016
Yes, I'm a noob. I just need a couple answers that I can't seem to find otherwise.
I'm trying to make a really simple and cheap (focus on quantity) circuit to turn on LEDs for a set period of time at the press of a momentary switch (push button, lights light up for 3 minutes or so, then turn themselves off).
So I need to know what I need to purchase, and how to put it together.

Retriggerable? Why?
LM555 is okay and cheap.
Battery powered?
What LED did you have in mind?
Here's a starting point. With a 390K timing resistor I get about 2 1/2 minutes. With a 430K I get about 3 1/2 minutes. Specifics depend mostly on how close your 470 uF cap is.
Total cost for parts shown comes to less than $1.00.

(P.S. After playing with the circuit, the diode is not needed. Replace it with a wire.)

Design 995 3 minute timer.PNG

Last edited:

Jacob Johnson

Jan 4, 2017
Retriggerable? Why?
LM555 is okay and cheap.
Battery powered?
What LED did you have in mind?
Here's a starting point. With a 390K timing resistor I get about 2 1/2 minutes. With a 430K I get about 3 1/2 minutes. Specifics depend mostly on how close your 470 uF cap is.
Total cost for parts shown comes to less than $1.00.