Maker Pro
Maker Pro

very basic (general) microcontroller programming question

c3po

Jan 13, 2017
I'm just getting started in microcontroller programming. I'm using a Texas Instruments Tiva (ARM) micro controller board. I'm trying to learn direct register programming instead of using the API provided by TI. I assumed this would make my programs at least somewhat portable (able to run on other manufacturers ARM micro controllers). But I recently looked at the datasheet for an ARM micro controller made by ST. To my horror, it looks the register names are completely different. Is micro controller programming so specific that the programmer has to start basically from scratch to learn each individual manufacturer's chip?

Arouse1973

Adam
Dec 18, 2013
That's why we write in C, because it's reasonably portable.
Thanks
Adam

c3po

Jan 13, 2017
That's why we write in C, because it's reasonably portable.
Thanks
Adam
Writing code in C doesn't help portability much if the register names and mnemonics for Texas Instruments ARM micro's aren't the same a ST's. The C code will be completely different. There's no chance a program written for TI will come close to running on an ST micro. I assumed register names were established by Acorn, the company that owns the ARM design. No?

Austin Clark

Aug 29, 2016
Writing code in C doesn't help portability much if the register names and mnemonics for Texas Instruments ARM micro's aren't the same a ST's. The C code will be completely different. There's no chance a program written for TI will come close to running on an ST micro. I assumed register names were established by Acorn, the company that owns the ARM design. No?

You ask an obviously misguided question, get a decent (though short) answer, then respond back with non-sense as though you know better than the person trying to help you? Sheesh.