Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Building a comparator

LectricCircuit

Apr 7, 2017
wondering if anyone could suggest a schematic I can use to build a comparator circuit that will turn on a LED at 8.4v when two lithium ion cells are done charging in series. Thought of using a couple Zeners in series but that way produces a gradual glow as the voltage rises and isn't as precise. A comparator would be off until the on-state voltage is reached and then will turn on without the messy gradual glowing effect. Problem is I'm fairly new to electronics and I'm able to follow schematics and such but I don't know how to create my own circuit off the top of my head with all the equations and such. I have already built the charger and it charges the battery great and stops at 8.42v. Just looking to add the charge complete LED to my existing circuit if possible.

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
Have you tried your favorite search engine? Just enter e.g. 'comparator schematic' ynd your monitor will be flooded with hits.
Tip: Zener diodes make miserable references for use in a decent comparator circuit, The're just not precise enough in most cases.

Audioguru

Sep 24, 2016
You need to learn about charging a Lithium battery. 8.4V is two fully charged lithium cells.

The charger is supposed to be a balanced charger so that one cell is never over-charged. A balanced charger monitors the voltage or each cell and bypasses current around the cell that is detected to be fully charged first.
The charger MUST limit the current and limit the voltage to 4.20V per cell.
When a cell voltage reaches 4.20V then it is not fully charged, it is about 75%. The charging current drops to a low amount when a cell is fully charged, then the charger should detect it and turn off, lighting an LED.