Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Newbie here need help

Sum ting Wong

Mar 5, 2018
Can I replace the um66/U2 in this circuit with a buzzer? And if yes what are the components in this circuit that will be removed?Screenshot_20180223_192726.png

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
Sure. Connect the buzzer between where pins 2 and 3 are and remove all the stuff from between pin 1 and ground.

The buzzer will get about 4.5 volts. If you want to increase that to closer to whatever the supply voltage is, remove D10 (you'll get the supply voltage less a few volts).

There may be more you can do, but I can't see the whole circuit.

73's de Edd

Aug 21, 2015
Sir Sum ting Wong . . . .

Amazed to see that you are still around . . . . . totally thought that we had lost you !
http://i1.ytimg.com/vi/4V8zkhfDGMw/maxresdefault.jpg

Looks like that specified acoustical alarm circuit is additionally using an extra transistor to be able to adjust the volume.
What I really like to use, is the almost free piezo transducers that are used in smoke alarms.
Usually the cast off alarms are found for a buck at garage sales or thrift stores.
There is a possibility that you possibly might be needing to acoustically muffle its output .
If you were thinking of a mechanical buzzer, that would be my absolute last choice, due to high power pull and arcing contacts.

CIRCUIT REDEDICATED TO DRIVING A PIEZO . . . . .

upload_2018-3-5_4-40-23.png

73's de Edd

Sum ting Wong

Mar 5, 2018
Sir Sum ting Wong . . . .

Amazed to see that you are still around . . . . . totally thought that we had lost you !
http://i1.ytimg.com/vi/4V8zkhfDGMw/maxresdefault.jpg

Looks like that specified acoustical alarm circuit is additionally using an extra transistor to be able to adjust the volume.
What I really like to use, is the almost free piezo transducers that are used in smoke alarms.
Usually the cast off alarms are found for a buck at garage sales or thrift stores.