Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Replace MOSFET AO4433 With FDS6679

brunobox99

Apr 10, 2018
Good day guys. This is my first time posting, hope you can help me a bit with this.

My Sony Vaio laptop from 2009 has two damaged AO4433 MOSFETS near the power supply connector. I want to replace them, but I can't find this exact model in my city. I have an old laptop motherboard (for spare parts) that has some FDS6679 MOSFETS that I can use.

Can I replace the damaged AO4433 with the FDS6679?

Thank you very much in advance for your help.

Cannonball

May 6, 2017
Look up the specs. and compare them, If they equal or exceed your requirements it will work.

brunobox99

Apr 10, 2018
Look up the specs. and compare them, If they equal or exceed your requirements it will work.
The major difference is the Pd. In the AO4433 is 3 W, and in the FDS6679 is 2.5 W.

Would it still work? I dont know much of electronics, I'm more a hobbyst than a technician.

hevans1944

Hop - AC8NS
Jun 21, 2012
There are some differences, the most notable is that FDS6679 has more than 2.5x the gate charge.
Do you even know what that statement means? This is a direct quote from a response to the same question here that you also cross-posted to Electronics Stack Exchange.

We here at Electronics Point are now waiting with bated breath for your next post on www.edaboard.com, where you stated that you are going to go ahead and try replacing the AO4433 mosfets with two FDS6679 MOSFETs salvaged from your other motherboard and report back the results there.

You apparantly also liked Dodgydave's unsubstantiated opinion that the FDS6679 has a "better spec" as he responded to your query on the All About Circuits forum here.

Are you not aware that it is considered poor form to post the same question on multiple forum sites simultaneously? Why are you wasting our time here on Electronics Point?

brunobox99

Apr 10, 2018