Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Questions about LM386 Audio Amplifier.

Lerior

Jan 20, 2018
Hello again,

I'm trying to build a simple audio amplifier using LM386. I'm trying to understand few things so I came up with few questions. Referring to the circuit diagram below:

1- Why do we use 10Ω and 10kΩ? Why these values in particular?

2- What determines the value of the capacitors? For instance, why 0.1µ and 10µ? Is there a way to know how to select these values (equations?)

3- Would using 3Ω speaker work with the same values?

Also, would adding a preamplifier (Like a single stage BJT transistor amplifier) work to enhance the sound quality by increasing the voltage gain? (More than 200?).
Edit: I attached another circuit with a BJT amplifier.

I apologize if these questions seem very obvious, I'm new to electronics and want to learn the theory behind LM386 amplifier.

Thank you.

Attachments

• Screen Shot 2018-04-29 at 8.11.35 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2018-04-29 at 8.11.35 PM.png
    249 KB · Views: 136
  • Screen Shot 2018-04-29 at 8.18.07 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2018-04-29 at 8.18.07 PM.png
    438 KB · Views: 123

kellys_eye

Jun 25, 2010
As with any electronic device, getting hold of the datasheet will reveal a whole plethora of details - from the basic specification of the device to application suggestions and, in between, the technical details for why certain components are chosen to support its function.

I suggest the exercise you have been given is to see if you can find said datasheet and extract the information from it - an essential part (skill) of circuit design.

The only 'answers' you will therefore receive on this question will be:

http://pdf1.alldatasheet.com/datasheet-pdf/view/413781/UTC/LM386.html

One last thing - different manufacturers give different details (in terms of 'amount' rather than 'accuracy') so don't just rely on the first data sheet you find - check out other versions to see if they offer more insight on pin functions.

BobK

Jan 5, 2010