Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Making a battery to charge my laptop on the road

Status
Not open for further replies.

CnTrL.

May 1, 2018
Hello everyone,

I guess I am a total noob when it comes to knowing how power works. I want to create a bunch of 18650 cells, they are 3.7 volts. I want to put every 5 in series so that i get 18.5 volts to charge my 19 volts laptop(I guess this is not a problem, if this can a problem please tell so). After that I wanted to put a few of those in parallel to get a higher capacity.
Now my question is: my laptop needs 4.75 A, but a single cell is 6.7 A. Is this a problem if I don't set them in parallel and can this create a problem when I do set more sets of 5 in parallel?

Thanks in advance,
Luc

kellys_eye

Jun 25, 2010
Your device will only draw the current it requires, no more. The amperage of the batteries will determine how long they last (under a given load).
What you're doing is creating a power pack that could be defined as 5SxP (5 in series 'x' in parallel). Such battery packs require careful balancing (matching battery capacities) and relatively sophisticated charging and monitoring for safety - else possible battery destruction under charging.

This is not a project for
I guess I am a total noob

You would be better served by purchasing a small SMPS power pack that operates from a car battery (or other 12V supply) and has switch selectable output voltages (to suit many standard laptop power requirements).

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Universa...552315?hash=item2a4f72d5bb:g:~0cAAOSwymxVIk0g

CnTrL.

May 1, 2018
I would rather just make a battery pack my self to reduce costs. The 12 volt batteries are often very small in capacity and are very expensive. I know how to wire batteries up but I don't quite know how a device reacts to a certain source of power. (Especially how amperage works, I understand voltage)