Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Building an LED lamp with varying color and brightness

Craig S

May 14, 2018
Can somebody help me construct a big-picture view of where I should be turning my attention here.

I want to put together a DIY lamp of some considerably brightness, up to maybe 50 W. I'm an electronics noob so I'm looking to start with off-the-shelf kit if possible, at least to begin with.

What I basically want is to drive/control maybe 3 different colors of white LED, and be able to dim them all, in a sensible fashion, much as the cheap LED tape controllers provide.

I'll settle for physical controls for now but it would be nice to be able to plug in wifi control and an app at a later stage.

I've been looking at PWM drivers but the variety is enormous and I lack the knowledge at this point to further refine my searching.

What are some ideas for a path to take here. E.g. I have notes on DMX512, Arduino, ? And given I want to drive a lot of power, should I be looking at high power controllers, or boosting power after the controller stage...

I realize this lacks specificity but as I said I need some broad overview advice before I can even start thinking about particulars.

kellys_eye

Jun 25, 2010
You could drive three high power LEDs (red, green and blue) using the cheap (and smaller) controllers simply by adding an external higher-power capability driver device (MOSFET usually).

The proportion of R, G abd B you set will determine both the colour and intensity of the resultant light.

You might find that an RGB DMX-controlled spotlight does all you require in 'one' package without the hassle though.

timff

Apr 13, 2018
An LED bulb that gives the equivalent amount of light as a 60W incandescent bulb may only require 8W of electrical power. However 8W is not inconsiderable. You may want to consider multiple LED arrays of red, blue, and green to distribute the watts per element over a larger number of devices.

Craig S

May 14, 2018
Is this really what you meant?