Maker Pro
Maker Pro

3D printer for replacement plastic parts?

primuspaul

Feb 7, 2018
I'm very new to 3D printing other than reading some general guides about it. How strong are objects made with 3D printing? For example, is it possible to make a GPS cradle that can withstand both the vibration and high temperature inside a car on a hot summer day? Is it worth it to get a more expensive 3D printer, or do they top out quality-wise at a few hundred bucks with the over $1,000 dollar models simply coming with built-in LCDs and wifi for people who don't want to hook up a computer?

primuspaul

Feb 7, 2018
Having done some research, I'd like a printer that can handle Nylon printing. Obviously polycarbonate is the best, but it's far too expensive, so nylon and lower (like ABS) will do. What price range am I looking at?

Robert Hill

Mar 5, 2015
Hi there. I have an ender 2 printer. From my understanding you could achieve what you want with a cheap end printer like the ender 2 (probably not the ender 2 though!) As long as you were willing to tinker a bit. For example abs usually needs an enclosure to print so that the air around the printing piece is warm. You could get a cheaper printer and build an enclosure round it. You can also print upgrade parts for a printer on the printer. There is also a material called petg which is a bit like abs but easier to print.

I'd certain't say a cheap 3d printer could produce what you want as depending on settings things you print cold prove very sturdy.

My suggestion would be scope out a few options for printers then check out youtube where you will find people trying to print all sorts of things on the price terms. This will give you an idea of what each one can do, how reliably and what modifications are needed.

Robert Hill

Mar 5, 2015
My printer was about £200.

This vid might show you what filament might suit your needs and therefore what printer to get.

Reactions: Ian

Alec_t

Jul 7, 2015