Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Beginner question : 555 timer pin 4

RhythMick

Nov 7, 2018
Morning all - newbie to the forum. Not my first forum though and I have searched through old threads before asking my Q.

I'm a complete beginner as far as SS electronics is concerned I'm afraid. When I started into DIY audio 3 years ago I decided teaching myself High Voltage valve amp building would be a great idea. Really enjoying the results, but in hindsight starting with low voltage would have been more sensible - especially as I didn't know the difference between volts and amps!

Anyway, my latest valve amp is using SS electronics to provide DC heating for the valves and it's going in a cupboard, so I am putting a small and quiet fan at the back. I've designed a control circuit with a thermistor/trimmer setting the output voltage from an LM317 - that sets the fan speed nicely if the heat increases. I also wanted to add a warning light to alternately flash a couple of red leds if the temperature on a different thermistor exceeds a set level - should be OFF when cold.

The 555 timer bit is fine, plenty of material and sample circuits around and I've played with it on a breadboard to see how stuff changes with different values and configurations. I've got this working in 2 ways and wanted opinions about them.

1) 555 pin 3 to resistor & led - but use a BC547 (because it's to hand) transistor to control the current flow. Collector to LED cathode, Emitter to 0v, Base to junction of thermistor & trimmer allowing me to set the trip point. This works ok but the led flashes faintly as the voltage approaches 0.6v. No problem, just bugs me a tiny bit. Also with this method I can't alternately flash the LEDs - I can put them in series and flash them together and that's ok.