Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Reversing polarity through signal from mouse switch

Status
Not open for further replies.

crabtree

Jul 22, 2020
Hi guys, I'm a newbie in both this forum and electronics so please pardon me if i'm using the wrong terms and if my descriptions below is a bit off/confusing.

I'm trying to create an 180 degrees oscillating base, which once power is connected, it will continually oscillating from left to right.

I've found the pre-made part for which has a "base" with motor and two mouse switches on either side. But i have no idea how to wire it:

upload_2020-7-22_12-48-45.png

I think, i need a circuit, where, it will reverse the polarity of power to the motor, when the oscillating "base stick" hits the left or right most position, triggering a signal from the mouse switch.

Hope this makes sense and would appreciate any recommendations/guidances.

Many thanks.

Bluejets

Oct 5, 2014
You will need more gear than you presently have there.
Is it important which way it travels to begin with...??
Latching will be required with each micro switch operating as a limit for a particular direction.
Then the motor needs to stop (perhaps only momentarily) before continuing on in the opposite direction.
What will be the initial start and eventual stop be comprised of.

Most of the above can be done with relays or solid state switches like mosfets etc. possibly h-bridge unit or even a small microcontroller if you are that way inclined.

Is any form of speed control required or were you planning to simply apply less voltage ..?

Last edited:

crabtree

Jul 22, 2020
You will need more gear than you presently have there.
Is it important which way it travels to begin with...??
Latching will be required with each micro switch operating as a limit for a particular direction.
Then the motor needs to stop (perhaps only momentarily) before continuing on in the opposite direction.
What will be the initial start and eventual stop be comprised of.