Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Need help with DC Dimming seven seg displays.

Schematicsman

Feb 14, 2018
Hi, everyone ,I am having trouble to find out how to design a dimmer circuit that will dim the 5 digit seven segments common anode displays, I have attached my multiplexed circuit below simulated all digits on. and I have also found a dimming circuit on the net and I am attaching below that I would like to use but not sure if it is good.

[I am using source voltage of +5V DC]
Im a newbie and would really like to know how this would be possible..?

Attachments

• My_5_digit_Common Anode _circuit.PNG
    My_5_digit_Common Anode _circuit.PNG
    39.4 KB · Views: 19
  • Internet LDR_Circuit.PNG
    Internet LDR_Circuit.PNG
    42.8 KB · Views: 14

kpatz

Feb 24, 2014
What's driving the display now? A microcontroller? Are you writing the firmware?

Dimming of displays is usually handled via PWM. With a multiplexed display, you could change the pulse width of either the row or column outputs to control the overall brightness of the LED displays.

There are LED driver ICs that allow for brightness control without using PWM as well.

Bluejets

Oct 5, 2014
The clock pulse usually handles the time on of each segment driver transistor.

Schematicsman

Feb 14, 2018
Hi, thanks for the quick response guys.
I'm using only bc557 PNP transistors to drive the displays with 1K resistor on the base of the Transistor and 220 ohm resistors on the segments pins, and I know the circuit is a mess and needs redesigning but as Im just learning , just getting the hang off it.
I just wanted to try a simple LDR circuit connected to the Displays without a chip of sort.

And speaking of writing firmware , that is one thing I would love to learn to learn to do, especially my own specific device drivers.eg.