Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Preventing a possible 12v short circuit

smilegr8

Dec 30, 2021
Good evening everyone !

My very first post here :)
I was wondering if somebody can spare few min to have a look at the diagram / sketch I have attached and advise how to solve the issue I have .
Basically I need to power a 12v liniar actuator via 2 different timer switches , one switch has the outputs reversed so the actuator can retract

1 timer switch will be on for 60sec at 14:30 and the other timer switch will be on for 60 sec at 21:30
A short circuit is certain if somehow both timer switches will be on at the same time ( let say one switch fails )

Happy to pay for a coffee if somebody can solve the mystery for me in a simple way as i'm a total beginner :)

Happy 2022

Attachments

• switch-problem.jpg
    switch-problem.jpg
    124 KB · Views: 17

Bluejets

Oct 5, 2014
The way how I see I think you have the diodes will not work.
Cannot see actual diode polarity in your so-called diagram.
Most here don't work for beans....:):)

AnalogKid

Jun 10, 2015
That timer has + and - inputs and + and - outputs. When the timer is *off*, is there any continuity between the input and output terminals? For example, are the two - terminals connected all the time, and the timer breaks only the connection between the + terminals?

ak

smilegr8

Dec 30, 2021
That timer has + and - inputs and + and - outputs. When the timer is *off*, is there any continuity between the input and output terminals? For example, are the two - terminals connected all the time, and the timer breaks only the connection between the + terminals?

ak

Good evening- yes I think so at least that's what i can understand from the diagram below .
Thank you Iurie

Attachments

• Screenshot_20211230-223528_Chrome.jpg
    Screenshot_20211230-223528_Chrome.jpg
    226.2 KB · Views: 12

crutschow

May 7, 2021
If both timers are on at the same time, there won't be a short if they are applying power from the same 12v supply.