Maker Pro
Maker Pro

ESP8266 for controlling selenoid door lock

Status
Not open for further replies.

Watha

Feb 4, 2022
Hello, I'm new in electric and I'm trying to use ESP8266 for controlling selenoid door lock, as picture attached.

I've checked ESP8266 works fine it could get data from firebase and send data to pin.
But I could not make it works with Selenoid Door Lock.
For battery I used 9v alkaline battery and it did work for selenoid door lock without relay when I checked it out. I've also already tried to replace battery with Adaptor 12V 2A.
I've already tried to use a diode parallel to magnetic locks but still does not work.

Could you please tell me where did the wiring go wrong?

Did it not work because I use 3.3v in ESP8266 as VCC in Relay Module?
Should I add Arduino Uno for Mikrocontroller to get 5v VCC?trial2_bb.jpg
I would appreciate it if anyone could help me.

Thank you.

Attachments

• trial2_bb.jpg
    trial2_bb.jpg
    119.5 KB · Views: 1

Coen

Jan 31, 2022
The SDR-05VDC-SL-C is a relay module that needs 5V to operate, and will require nominal 71 or 89 mA to operate (depends on type of relay (Standard or High Sensitivity)). The minimal pull-in voltage of the relay is 75% of the operating voltage, so 3.75V. Both the voltage and the current is a problem for the nodemcu. This module operates at 3.3V and can deliver a maximum of 20mA (in sync mode, 12mA source mode) per output.
There are similar relays that can work on 3V but require even more current (120mA). An Arduino Uno does operate on 5V but also cannot deliver enough current (about 40mA max).

So you have multiple issues here
- In your schematics the nodemcu is not powered
- the nodemcu cannot drive the relay (voltage and current issue) directly.

You can power the nodemcu with the 9V battery when you connect it to the Power Vin.