Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Circuit selector

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rocksteady

Aug 29, 2022
Hi. I am quite new to electronics so I am not even sure whether "circuit selector" is the correct terminology. Imagine multiple circuits, let's say 10 circuits, you want to switch on one at a time (i.e. only one circuit will be on at any given time) using only two tactile buttons, "up" and "down". "Up" toggles through all the circuits and when you get up to circuit number "9", it goes back to "0" with the next press. The "down" button simply goes the other way. How to do this without using a microcontroller please? I was thinking with mosfets or a 555 timer or a combination of both BUT I've racked my brain and can't figure it out. Surely there must already exist such a circuit? Thanks! :)

Bluejets

Oct 5, 2014
Up down counter.
Discrete ic's available.
Set to count to 10 and then reset.

More information required on what you want to switch exactly to give a more detailed answer.
Alternative would be a 10 position rotary switch.:)

crutschow

May 7, 2021
Do you want to switch the power to the circuits, or their output signals?

kellys_eye

Jun 25, 2010
In the simplest possible sense use a 4017 decade counter driving 10 banks of relays who's contacts switch-over the relevant signal lines of the 10 circuits you want to control. Pulse the 4017 using a de-bounced push-button and (potentially) a 555 monostable.

Of course the 'relays' can be some other form of switch - solid-state - depends very much on what you're switching and how fast, voltage, current etc

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
n the simplest possible sense use a 4017 decade counter
Problem with the 4017 is that it counts only upwards. A CD4029B or MC14516B (for example) could be used to count up or down, but here an additional BCD-to-Decimal decoder is required.