Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Why do they use a voltage divider in this instance?

cramar

Aug 22, 2022
Hi everyone, this is my first post so be kind;)

As I approach retiement I thought I would learn a new hobby. Electronics and Microcontrollers it is.
I am self taught (using resources from the internet) so I hope I am using the corect terminology.

Below is a circuit I have modified for my own needs - It is used to back light an instrument panel.
The backlighting will be turned on by a microcontroller but I know that the maximum current of a GPIO pin is in the range of 40mA. Therefore I am using a 12 volt supply to power the back lighting.

I have included my calculations for resistors in the image below - I have been doing this in my schematics for the time being just to force me to think about what i am doing.

Anyway to my question...

What is the purpose of the voltage divider in the reference circuit.
If I omit the voltage divider (R1 & R2) it simply raises the value of R3 - and saves two resistors.

I suspect there is another logical reason this was included in the reference circuit? Is it to reduce the load on the microcontroler pin? If so how do you go about working out the best values to use for R1 & R2 or are they somewhat arbitary?

Thanks for your time.
Craig

1661155434236.png

bertus

Nov 8, 2019
Hello,

See the comments in the drawing:
led driver comment.png
As the voltage drop accross the leds need to be 16 Volts.
There is also some voltage needed for Re and accross the transistor.
I estimate that the circuit will work from 18 Volts.

Bertus

Alec_t

Jul 7, 2015
What is the purpose of the voltage divider in the reference circuit.
It is to provide a reference voltage for the circuit, which is providing a nominally constant current through the LEDs.
Welcome to the forum!

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
If I omit the voltage divider (R1 & R2) it simply raises the value of R3 - and saves two resistors.