Maker Pro
Maker Pro

How to build a charge amplifier with fC resolution and low bandwidth?

Sim

Nov 16, 2022
Hello, I am quite new to electrical engineering, I only had a few lectures at my uni, so I only know the bare basics.
My goal is to measure a charge on a single particle that flies through a faraday cage. The time the particle stays in the cage is from 0.1 to 1 sec, and its charge is in the range of fC.
I used TINA from TI to build a circuit that should work, but when I physically built the circuit, I found that it did not work as intended.
Can someone wiser than I am, help me or just comment if the circuit makes sense?

Below is the first circuit that I designed. In this configuration, I can clearly measure 10pC.
The problem comes when I want to go one order lower into fC range.
The gain on the first op-amp is maxed out because when I increase R1 the bias current will saturate the op-amp, and if I lowered the C2 the induced charge would leak, and I am not able to preserve the shape of the input signal.
This makes the gain on the first op-amp 2x10^7.
My solution to this was to introduce the second op-amp in voltage multiplier configuration that will increase the gain by approx 3 orders of magnitude. So far, so good.

Capture.PNG

Now comes the problem.
The bias current from the first op-amp lifts the baseline of the inverting input to the second op-amp by a few hundred millivolts. This causes problems in the amplification because the noninverting input is at ground potential. Therefore, I am limited in the amplification of the second stage because this offset adds to the gain and oversaturates the second amplifier quite easily.