Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Closed loop for two brushless motors

babba369

Feb 15, 2023
Hello everyone,
I need to buy a board (STM32?) like Arduino in order to read in input two RPM values from two different RPM sensors and to send in output two PWM signals to two different ESC (Electronic Speed Controller) that will drive two brushless motors.
Basically I need something that will provide these features:
  • 12-bit resolution
  • read in input two RPM values
  • send in output two PWM values
  • control frequency in the order of 2 kHz
  • USB-connection in order to load the software from my PC
I am very sorry, total noob in Electronics!
Thanks in advance

Minder

Apr 24, 2015
Not really a suitable project for someone who is a 'total noob to Electronics'?

crutschow

May 7, 2021
I am totally agree with you, this is a work for a master thesis.
Then this is classified as homework and should be in that forum.

With that, we don't do homework, so you need to show us you approach to solving the problem and we will help.

danadak

Feb 19, 2021
Consider this :

The above kit is for PSOC 4 but if you port it to PSOC 5LP that has a USBUART in it that is
very easy, with example project, to implement a USB serial link. The 5LP board also
debugs/programs thru USB. Board to start with would be CY8CKIT-059, $ 15. PSOC 4 board
has USB for debug/[program, but not a USB for USBUART if you needed that capability. PSOC
5LP has all that capability and more.

What is in a single chip SOC PSOC 5LP, multiple copies of these resources in many cases :

1676483640264.png

1676483687463.png

On web many articles about using PSOC 4 for motor control. PSOC 4 is basically a subset
of 5LP.

Compiler and IDE (PSOC Creator) free.

Regards, Dana.

Last edited:

hevans1944

Hop - AC8NS
Jun 21, 2012
Another excellent post by @danadak. Anyone working towards a degree of master of science in electrical engineering should be able to follow Dana's suggestions.