Maker Pro
Maker Pro

BJT NPN + PNP to switch channel.

codetale

Feb 26, 2023
Hi, I'm new to electric and circuit design, wish I'm posting in right forum.

I have 2 speaker playing same source, :
- they will not sound simultaneously
- able to flip/switch the active speaker

My idea is connect one speaker to NPN (SpeakerA) and another to PNP (SpeakerB),
then put 1 pin of microcontroller to HIGH or LOW to flip/switch the active speaker.
I had tested the circuit in below Thinkercad, although it work but i believe something is incorrect,
because if I remove the resistor from the SpeakerA, when its turn, it will also play to SpeakerB
tinkercad - SwitchChannel

are my circuit correct? or any idea why the SpeakerB sound as well when the resistor is removed.

thanks

Alec_t

Jul 7, 2015
Welcome to maker.pro.
Please post a schematic of your setup.

Alec_t

Jul 7, 2015
What is the specification of the speakers? Are they powered or passive?

codetale

Feb 26, 2023
its passive, it powered by the microcontroller analog pin when signal generated.
0.5w 8ohm
thanks

Alec_t

Jul 7, 2015
The Arduino's rated maximum output current is only 40mA per analog/digital pin. An 8 Ohm speaker will draw as much as 625mA from a 5V supply, so will kill (or at least stress) the Arduino.
A speaker is inductive and can generate damaging voltage spikes if switched off quickly.
A speaker if used as shown will have a large DC current component which will bias its voice-coil one way and result in high distortion of any audio signal.
You need to re-design your circuit to have two audio amplifier stages which can be enabled/disabled by the Arduino.

codetale

Feb 26, 2023
did you mean that if the current draw is small enough, then my circuit are "correct"?
lets said change to LED?

A speaker if used as shown will have a large DC current component which will bias its voice-coil one way and result in high distortion of any audio signal.