Maker Pro
Maker Pro

beginner- Arduino Uno DC motor h-gate problems

CD_

May 19, 2023
Hi, I'm a beginner to electronics and have an Arduino. I want to control the rotation and speed of a DC motor using an h gate.

The problem is- the motor doesn't rotate when I power the Arduino (via my computer) so yeah

I don't know if it is a code problem or a setup problem, so I will post images of both.
IMG_20230519_172717256.jpg
IMG_20230519_172751427.jpg
IMG_20230519_172732682.jpg

Screenshot_20230519-162932-840.png

IMG_20230519_172554420_HDR.jpg

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
From the images it is next to impossible to recognize your circuit. Please post a schematic circuit diagram. Including the connections from the driver IC to the Arduino.
Please also post a link to the datasheet of the driver IC or at least teh type of IC you are using.

With respect to your code I have the following observations (may be more or less valid depending on the type of driver IC you use):
  • to make the code better accessible for us, please insert as textt in a code box (</> symbol, see screenshot), not as an image. See the code box I inserted below.
    1684516931449.png
  • The variable rotdirection is never used.
  • You use analogWrite() to control the enable pin of the driver. This can be done but is illogical. EnA is a logic pin and shoud be controlled by a digital logic signal using digitalWrite().
    Or use analogWrite() when using PWM for speed control, but there's no speed control in your code. Your commenting is very sparse and doesn't help others understanding what it is you want the code to do.
  • You define in1 and in2 as inputs, then you try to use these as outputs by writing a logic state to this input, This won't work. You need to define in1 and in2 as outputs (these are outputs from the Arduino to inputs of the driver IC).
    This is possibly the main issue here and changing in1 and in2 from inputs to outputs may all that is needed to fix it.