Maker Pro
Maker Pro

110 to 12 volts reduction help

Andrew Miller

Oct 15, 2015
I need to know the easiest and cheapest way to reduce a 110 plug to a 12 VDC output. Right now I am using phone charges for my project, but I want to build my own boxes with the proper circutry inside for the reduction. Thank you!

Bluejets

Oct 5, 2014
On the first hand, I very much doubt you will build anything as cheaply as you can buy a commercially available product.
On the other side is the fact it would also be far safer, as 110v can be very dangerous in inexperienced hands.

Andrew Miller

Oct 15, 2015
I can use a phone charger to do what I want to do, but I can't call it "my" product. I want to be able to build and sell the item as my own. I have lots of experience with electricity and putting tofether circuit boards, as I did it for World Industries, as long as I have what I need to do the job. It's figuring out what I need that is the problem.

Bluejets

Oct 5, 2014
In most countries, putting together and selling anything associated with mains supply requires appropriate licencing and qualifications.
In many instances, rather costly to accomodate which is why I suggested the commercially available product.

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
I have lots of experience with electricity and putting tofether circuit boards
But obviously not the experience required to design a power supply, less so a safe one.
There's nothing wrong with using an off the shelf power supply. Many commercial products use power supplie sthat the manufacturer simply buys and fits to his design. Consider putting a DC plug in your device and simply sell a suitable power supply with it.

Andrew Miller

Oct 15, 2015
All you guys have to say is you don't know. I don't need a lecture or advice on rules and regulations. I am looking for an answer to a specific question. If you can't provide an answer to that question then please move on. Maybe I joined the wrong forum.

Andrew Miller

Oct 15, 2015