Maker Pro
Maker Pro

12 volt voltage "clamp?"

willymc

Jan 26, 2013
Hi, I'm new here so bear with me. I have some experience with electronics and circuit design, but it's been awhile. Here is my situation. I have a motorhome and I want to convert my 12 volt incandescent lights to leds. I put in some led boards and they kept overheating and burning out. It appears that my supply voltage varies too much. When my solar panel is charging my batteries, I have 13.5 volts. I beleive that is what is overheating my led boards. Putting in a 7812 12 voltage regulator won't work because they have a drop out voltage of 1.5 - 2 volts. I don't always have the 13.5 volts. I need something that will limit the output to a maximum of 12 volts. If the input voltage falls below 12, the output will follow it down. If the input voltage goes above 12, the device will limit the output to 12 volts. Any suggestions are appreciated. Thanks.

Last edited by a moderator:

BobK

Jan 5, 2010
If you could break open one of the LED modules, it might be no more difficult than changing out a resistor. If you could post pictures we might be able to help.

Bob

willymc

Jan 26, 2013
I'll peel off the backing on one of the light boards and try to get a picture of the front and back. May take awhile.

willymc

Jan 26, 2013
Hello again. Pictures won't help. This is what I found. On the front there are 24 - 5050 SMD brightwhite LEDs. On the back there are 8 - 57 ohm resistors.

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
If the LEDs are burning out at 13.5V (and they have series resistors) then something seriously wrong is happening.

I would suggest one (or more) of the following:

1) they're set up for 6V, not 12V
2) they require heatsinking at the rated current
3) the ambient temperature is very high
4) poor design

Let's do some calculations...