Maker Pro
Maker Pro

120v Relay Flickering on and off very quickly ?!

shawn_

Mar 6, 2013
9
Joined
Mar 6, 2013
Messages
9
hi there im new here but know very few about electronics and would like some help

i have a module that remote activate a 120v accesory ( a relay ) and bought a heavy duty 120v voice coil relay so i plugged it in the remote module and the heavy duty relay is going on and off on & off very quickly , but when i plug it to the 120v directly there is no problem , if i plug a 120v light bulb at the remote module instead on the relay it lights up just fine ??

im guessing after going true the module the 120v alternating to much ? ...

please help me ... i hope its a easy fix , thank you so much
 

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Moderator
Jan 21, 2010
25,510
Joined
Jan 21, 2010
Messages
25,510
Can we have more details about this module and relay please?
 

shawn_

Mar 6, 2013
9
Joined
Mar 6, 2013
Messages
9
Can we have more details about this module and relay please?

yes sure !

what type of info do you need

the module that i modified originaly is very simple , you plug the module in youre 120v wall plug , and the other end of the module is a house 120v plug but its controled by a rj11 wire and is connected to the main module thats a climate controler

now the module that i want to modify is quite simple


perfectly normal operation of the module

120v going in , rj11 gives signal , 120v is now comming out of the module
120v goin in , rj11 gives no signal , 120v is not comming out

now my project witch is finished at 99% and looks wicked :) well .. its not working well !

my project , take the 120v output of the module , and plug it to the heavy duty;s 120v voice coil

very simple , now in theory when the module receives the rj11 signal, 120v comes out of the module , the 120v now goes though the heavy duty relay turning it on and now i can plug what ever i want on the heavy duty relay like a 240v heater ! ( that was the hole ideal :)

everything is working as planned except when the heavy duty relay gets a signal it doesnt get a steady signal it gets a pulsing signal making it turning on and off veryy quicky ( if i plug my module like this its a fire hazard ..... my relay will end up taking fire because of high current 240v 6a , it will melt the 2 contact point in 2 min like this ... )

there must be a resistor or a capasitor i can put on the line and make it steady again ?

it must be a safe solution because example if its only a matter of a resistor to be added to the heavy duty relay's voice coil and then without me knowing burns and the relay flicker's again then its not good at all ... i rather have a system that if something like the resistor burns then the signal cannot be closed looped then the relay will never open

if i plug the relay direcly on the houses 120v it works perfectly , some how the module transfers the currents slighly alternative to extremely alternative ?

all this just to ask how to make my heavy duty relay work constant grab and not going on and off

btw this module is made and designed to be used as a heater controler

you put a 10amp or less 120v heater and it will control the room..... i wanted to put my high power relay to control my 240v heater....

if i plug a light bulb at the end of the module it will light up

my relay acts exactly like a jewelers engraver , turns on and off like 30-60 times a second like hz ?

will take pictures to show


please help me ! im sooo close to my goal !!
 

shawn_

Mar 6, 2013
9
Joined
Mar 6, 2013
Messages
9
photo1kz.jpg

photo2ylu.jpg

photo3dmg.jpg

960relay002.jpg


lets take the Second picture

the bottom connecting ,

first on the left white 120v in ,
second middle black 120v in

third on the right black 120v out
fourth top black 120v out

third & fourth is the + & - 120v of the Heavy duty relay ( take the same + & - instead of pluging the relay plug a 120v light and it works perfectly .. )

the 2 bottom round hole of the box is the the 240v in & out

hope this helps ??

thank you !!!
 
Last edited:

shrtrnd

Jan 15, 2010
3,876
Joined
Jan 15, 2010
Messages
3,876
You'll get more help I'm sure to follow.
My observation at first glace is that you have a module running a DC relay inside the
grey box, and are adding an AC relay to the circuit.
Where you apply your power is going to make a difference.
 

shawn_

Mar 6, 2013
9
Joined
Mar 6, 2013
Messages
9
You'll get more help I'm sure to follow.
My observation at first glace is that you have a module running a DC relay inside the
grey box, and are adding an AC relay to the circuit.
Where you apply your power is going to make a difference.

im not following ?
 

shawn_

Mar 6, 2013
9
Joined
Mar 6, 2013
Messages
9
this is the original module no modification ( this module simply plugs in youre house 120v plug & you plug in you're 120v heater )

36115b.jpg



i just took the 120v output and pluged it in my relay , and aks up , if i plug my relay in the 120v directly no problem...

and here is the module's relay up close

photomh.png


top left black wire 120 v out to heavy duty relay's voice coil
bottom black wire 120v out to heavy duty relay's voice coil

top right black 120v in from house
top right white 120v in from house
 
Last edited:

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Moderator
Jan 21, 2010
25,510
Joined
Jan 21, 2010
Messages
25,510
Is the large relay designed for 120VAC to the coil? Do you have a link to the specs on it?

edit: the "small" relay seems to be rated for 240V 40A if I read it correctly.

Why can't you use that for the heater?
 
Last edited:

shawn_

Mar 6, 2013
9
Joined
Mar 6, 2013
Messages
9
i found the solution ! it was very simple !

the big heavy duty relay was bolted to close back and blocking the voice coil plate....

simply bent the metal a little and it works perrrrrfectly !!! :)))

akward situation hun ? .... lurned it the hard way i guess !

thanks !
 

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Moderator
Jan 21, 2010
25,510
Joined
Jan 21, 2010
Messages
25,510
Nothing got destroyed.

"The hard way" is when you discover this after first breaking lots of expensive stuff.
 
Top