Maker Pro
Maker Pro

12v DC Doorbell Chime

new11

May 5, 2021
Hey guys,
I hope everyone is doing well!

I've been scratching my head with this for a while now and was wondering if anyone might have any ideas.

Very simply, I'm trying to make a 12v DC doorbell chime for my dads shed, that activates on a momentary button press, running over Cat5e cable. I am aware that Cat5e isn't doorbell wire. However, it was existing.

It's running over a distance of about 45m (50 yards), on the door end is a simple momentary button (with a LED) & one the chime end, experimenting with either a piezo buzzer or solenoid chime. (Which ever works haha) I do have a couple spare 12v DC Delay Relay switches laying around if required.

As a last resort, would anyone have any advice on how to create a DIY PoE bell chime? I've looked everywhere on the web, but cant find any guides.

Many thanks in advance for any feedback.
P.s apologies if there's anything obvious, I'm quite new to all this.

crutschow

May 7, 2021
So have you done a search for a 12Vdc (why 12Vdc?) chime or buzzer?

poor mystic

Apr 8, 2011
Hi :)
I once used a pair of dynamo telephones to do a similar job and more. Twirling the dynamo generated an AC voltage which not only rang the distant bell, but also powered a few minutes speech, so that no batteries were needed. I just put a simple 4 diode full-wave rectifier and a 100V capacitor (was it a couple of thousand microfarad?) in each telephone.
Probably works over about 10km or more, and cat5 should be ideal..

PETERDECO

Dec 19, 2019
Use a wireless doorbell. We have one with a receiver that plugs into an outlet. Very long range.

new11

May 5, 2021
So have you done a search for a 12Vdc (why 12Vdc?) chime or buzzer?

You know, I had spend the past six months trying to search for something that wasn't over $100 and I could never find anything.