Maker Pro
Maker Pro

1650w electric conversion

tommyelectric

Jul 25, 2014
hello i had question about a european appliance i want to run in the states.
Im no electrician and the appliance was very expensive and i dont want take any chances and fry it.
its a 1650w electric preassure steralizer.
It has the weird 3 prog power cable.

I read i will need at least a 1650w, but one that i found was not 3 prog but only 2 and said was not meant for continues use.
That makes me wonder, what can i buy to make it work here in the states.

If you can point me in the direction of what i will need to buy.
will i need a adpater and a converter, is there a all in one? is there one that is more worry proof then another?
I only plan to use the appliance for 1 or 2 hours at a time.

Thank You

Gryd3

Jun 25, 2014
Please look on the appliance and tell us exactly what it is rated for.
There should be a sticker, a plate, or even stamped plastic that should tell us all the input voltage(s) that are accepted, and the current draw.

Using only an adaptor when you need a converter will most likely fry it.
We can make recommendations on assumptions that it is a 220V only device, and that the current draw is 7.5A, but I want to make sure ;)

Edit: If someone else takes a peek in here... would using two legs from a 3-phase system work? eg... like the dryer or stove plug? Op... PLEASE don't attempt this.

Gryd3

Jun 25, 2014
You claim the device is 1650W... I am not aware of any math that would allow a 500W converter to run at 3 times it's capacity.
Do you have more specs on the device you want to power?

So far, I would assume you need a converter that is rated for at least 1650Watts, but higher is better.
I would really like to know what the specs are on the device though before I make assumptions.

BobK

Jan 5, 2010