Maker Pro
Maker Pro

2 transistor circuit input output question.

brandonb916

Jan 26, 2016
Let me start by saying thank you for reading this. I hate signing up just to ask a question, but I would really appreciate any help. I am studying for an employment test and it is on stuff I learned in the Marine Corps more than a decade ago, so I'm a little rusty.

I actually have the answers to the problem I have, but I don't quite understand how they came about the 8 volts. I get that the transister lowers voltage by .7 and that's why the second answer is 7.3. I know this is probably fairly simple, but I just can't make sense of it. I have written the answers from the key in the blanks. I am more than willing to put in the work myself and I don't expect to be spoon fed. So if any of you have a suggestion on where I can look, I'd very much appreciate it.homework.jpg

Last edited:

dorke

Jun 20, 2015
If you do a Tevenin equivalent of the 5k and 20K bias resistors, you will get a voltage Vbb =8V and a series resistor of 4k.

i10K=VE/10k=(VB-0.7)/10K
ib=(8-VB)/4k
i10k=2*iE=2*(beta+1)*ib=2*(beta+1)*(8-VB)/4k

thus
2*(beta+1)*(8-VB)/4k=(VB-0.7)/10K
solve for VB and make an assumption on beta(if not given)

for beta=30 we get VB=7.95v
for beta=100 we get VB=7.98v

brandonb916

Jan 26, 2016
Thank you very much for the detailed answer. Certainly would not have come up with that on my own. Now to practice. Thanks again!

Tha fios agaibh

Aug 11, 2014
If you do a Tevenin equivalent of the 5k and 20K bias resistors, you will get a voltage Vbb =8V and a series resistor of 4k.
Dorke: Pardon my ignorance, but how did you arrive at the 4k series equivalence?

John

hevans1944

Hop - AC8NS
Jun 21, 2012
Dorke: Pardon my ignorance, but how did you arrive at the 4k series equivalence?

John