Maker Pro
Maker Pro

2-way mic switch with LED channel indicators

kilroy

Apr 5, 2022
3
Joined
Apr 5, 2022
Messages
3
I'd love to build this idea I have - see attached sketch - but is it possible for someone like me, with with limited theory knowledge? As for practical skills, I think I could manage this sort of thing:
 

Attachments

  • IMG_3551.jpg
    IMG_3551.jpg
    175.6 KB · Views: 6

cjdelphi

Oct 26, 2011
1,166
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
1,166
it's just a dpdt switch, no power required

and you wish to switch audio from the input to one of the 2 outputs?
 

cjdelphi

Oct 26, 2011
1,166
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
1,166
one of these then?
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot_20220405-215102_eBay.jpg
    Screenshot_20220405-215102_eBay.jpg
    144.8 KB · Views: 4

kilroy

Apr 5, 2022
3
Joined
Apr 5, 2022
Messages
3
Hi, yes, that's right: I wish to switch one input from a 3.5mm microphone between 2 outputs.
But how to power the channel indicator LEDs? Do I need a 3PDT switch for that?
I can solder, but I have forgotten all my electronics theory. I don't know
- how to mute a mic circuit (do you just break the circuit or do you need to short it somehow?!)
- how to avoid pops/clicks
- how the PC or Mac will behave - I there to be no noise when the channel is closed, but I don't the mic to 'disappear' from the OS, for example!
 

Audioguru

Sep 24, 2016
3,642
Joined
Sep 24, 2016
Messages
3,642
Most switches use high current silver plated contacts that fail soon with the very low signal level from a microphone. Use a switch with gold plated contacts that are designed for low levels. They cost the same as switches with silver plated contacts.

Switching electret mics will cause very loud pops.
 

kilroy

Apr 5, 2022
3
Joined
Apr 5, 2022
Messages
3

cjdelphi

Oct 26, 2011
1,166
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
1,166
Hey Audioguru, thanks. There must be a way to avoid pops? Resistors and capacitors?
Would these components be a good starting point?

Switch
4PDT (so could have audio and indicators on separate circuits??)
https://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/toggle-switches/6925233

Indicators
https://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/indicators/0207185 Red
https://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/indicators/0209939 Blue

Enclosure
https://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/general-purpose-enclosures/5173276

emi suppression, pass it through a capacitor use a choke etc, a cleaner way would be to use a multiplayer IC chip

like the cd4051be
 

Audioguru

Sep 24, 2016
3,642
Joined
Sep 24, 2016
Messages
3,642
If you are using electret mics then they are powered with DC and will make a POP if disconnected or connected.
You could use a circuit to ramp down their signal, switch, then ramp up the signal. Do the opposite to the other mic.
 

cjdelphi

Oct 26, 2011
1,166
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
1,166
If you are using electret mics then they are powered with DC and will make a POP if disconnected or connected.
You could use a circuit to ramp down their signal, switch, then ramp up the signal. Do the opposite to the other mic.

why didn't I think of that
 
Top