Maker Pro
Maker Pro

220v to 110v circuit

Scott Hewitt

Feb 11, 2016
3
Joined
Feb 11, 2016
Messages
3
Hello all I have a small temperature controller that was made in Europe and has the euro plug. I tried using a plug converter but the output is only 58v where I need 110. Do you think this is something that a component or two change on the board would make this work on 110.
 

Minder

Apr 24, 2015
3,268
Joined
Apr 24, 2015
Messages
3,268
Is this a thermostat device of some kind?
Is there heating elements involved?
More would have to be known about the device itself.
M.
 

davenn

Moderator
Sep 5, 2009
14,039
Joined
Sep 5, 2009
Messages
14,039
buy an appropriate step-up transformer
they are readily available for people wanting to match 110V required by the unit to local mains voltages
 
Last edited:

Scott Hewitt

Feb 11, 2016
3
Joined
Feb 11, 2016
Messages
3
It has a probe that reads the temperature and then adjust the output to a heat pad.
 

Attachments

  • 20160211_153615.jpg
    20160211_153615.jpg
    142.3 KB · Views: 72
  • 20160211_154105.jpg
    20160211_154105.jpg
    160.4 KB · Views: 66

Minder

Apr 24, 2015
3,268
Joined
Apr 24, 2015
Messages
3,268
It appears to have a switching supply, you could try it on 120.
Although the unit is rated at 600w the current for a local supplied 600w pad would be twice the current.
Will be 1/2 if original pad..
Max.
 

BobK

Jan 5, 2010
7,682
Joined
Jan 5, 2010
Messages
7,682
Yes, we do, but only 2 outlets in a typical house, one for the stove and one for the dryer.

Bob
 

Tha fios agaibh

Aug 11, 2014
2,240
Joined
Aug 11, 2014
Messages
2,240
Similar to a post not long ago called "thermostat".
I believe it was Duke37 who suggested changing the incoming capacitor in order to increase the internal voltage of the circuit.
 
Top