Maker Pro
Maker Pro

24V Electromechanical Relay-sparks but doesn't switch

SamGIII

Feb 12, 2021
You can probably tell from the title and the description below that I have little experience in electronics--thank you for taking the time should you choose to help. : )

I have a bar that raises and lowers electronically. It was made in the 90's and the manufacturer no longer exists. It is powered by a windshield wiper motor. When the button to raise or lower the bar is pressed, there is frequently (roughly 8 out of 10 times) only click and nothing else. The other 2 times it operates normally.

I opened it up to see if I could determine the issue and there are two electromechanical relays on the circuit board

these-
https://www.alliedelec.com/product/omron-electronic-components/g2r-1-dc24/70175791/

One switches when the bar is raised, and the other to lowers it.

It appears that what is happening is that when the relay fails to operate properly all I get is a small spark between the contacts (red arrow). The magnet seems to fail to completely close the EM switch 80% of the time, and I just get a small arc. I did open up the covers of both relays and clean the contacts with a needle file which only seemed to helped a bit.

Board.jpg

Is it likely that replacing the relays will correct that issue? Or am I on the wrong path?

Thanks again for your help and I apologize for my lack of proper terminology. : \

Sam

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
Before replacing the relays I'd check the control voltage to the relay coils. Do you have a voltmeter or multimeter to do so? If the control voltage to the coil fails, the relay may be perfectly o.k..
While you have the cover removed you may also check whether the armature (the moving parts) of the relay moves freely. You can do so manually, make sure no power is applied to the board, though.

SamGIII

Feb 12, 2021
I did check the relays and they seem fine mechanically (i.e. the do move freely when operated manually.)