Maker Pro
Maker Pro

4-20mA circuit and MCU

Nickb1969

Aug 28, 2016
Hi guys,

I am looking for some some help with 4-20mA circuit.

The basic setup is a micro controller with 8 to 24 digital inputs. Each input is one on / off sensor. Together the inputs form a stepped level for a column of water. 8 sensors = 8 steps, 14 sensors = 14 steps etc.

I am trying to create a 4-20mA output using the micro controller and any other components needed. I was hoping that the micro controller would be able to take the digital inputs and generate a 4-20mA signal.

I really do not know where to start, I am not an electronics expert or had any experience with 4-20mA circuits.

Could someone point me in the best direction for this. I am happy to use an AD421 if this is the correct way to go. An help would be great but please don't talk technicals because it will go over my head. I understand basics of 4-20mA and very basic functions of micro controller. The micro controller has not been selected yet, but looking at a 64 pin ARM Cortex (NXP 9MKE04Z64VLH4)

shrtrnd

Jan 15, 2010
4-20mA constant current source is an industrial standard for process control instruments.
I'd start Googleing manufacturers in the business, ALL of them have application notes concerning uses for their product lines. You might get some good ideas from checking their websites.
Eaton, Newport, Omron, Red Lion, Veeder-Root, IDEC, Autonics, ABB, many more.

Alec_t

Jul 7, 2015
Here's one approach.
In this simulation the sensor outputs are combined by a simple resistor network.
The combined output (yellow trace) rises non-linearly as the number of sensors is increased from 1 to 24. One ADC input of the micro would be used with a look-up table to convert this combined signal to a linear voltage ranging from 0.4V to 2V, for driving a conventional 4-20mA generator comprising an opamp, current-sense resistor R2 and Q1.
4_20mA_from_multi-sensors.PNG

Nickb1969

Aug 28, 2016
Here's one approach.