Maker Pro
Maker Pro

4017 & 555 Police LED Lights Project (noob question)

Feb 19, 2015
hello, i am assigned to create a physical project starting from the schematics on the left side. my teacher told me that the schematic is incomplete, so the first step is to corect it and then use pads and then send the gerber files to a company to create it. i started reserching it and every schematics i found on the internet about this project had a major diffrence...in my schematics the outputs of the IC 4017 is conecte to 6 resistors...on a number of other similar schematics they are connected to 6 diodes...this is my first project and it is the first time i have to use my electronics knowledge to do something from a tp z and aparently i don`t have much of it
sad.gif
...can some one please talk to me about the diffrences on those schematics...can any one shed some light for me on this subject? i will be forever gratefull
smiley.gif
thank you in advance
smiley.gif
(sorry for my bad english, i hope you understand what i am talking about ^.^)police lights.png

Gryd3

Jun 25, 2014
Tomaeto Tomahto.
The resistors allow current to flow both directions... so the 4017 will form a voltage divider. If the values are chosen properly, there should be enough current to trigger the transistor further down the line responsible for the lights.
The diodes only allow current flow in one direction (toward the transistor) and would be the easier one to design/troubleshoot, and more of the output from the 4017 would be directly sent to the transistor.

BobK

Jan 5, 2010
Agree. They are just wasting power compared to the diode solution. Perhaps this is one of the "mistakes" your prof wanted you to find.

Bob

Feb 19, 2015