Maker Pro
Maker Pro

555 Timer Issue Using Tina Pro 8, invalid floating point

Soundshark

Nov 25, 2010
4
Joined
Nov 25, 2010
Messages
4
Hi im having some problems i hope someone can help

Building a simple alarm as part of my practical exam i have all the digital side working great but for some reason i canot get a simple astable 555 time circuit to run im using tine pro 8 could someone please look at the 555 design and tell me if they think its me or the software

thanks in advance
Anthony

http://img809.imageshack.us/img809/715/faill.png <<<<screenshot
 

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Moderator
Jan 21, 2010
25,505
Joined
Jan 21, 2010
Messages
25,505
From a brief look, it seems correct.

This page has an almost identical circuit.

555ast.gif
 

LTX71CM

May 23, 2010
182
Joined
May 23, 2010
Messages
182
The connection to pin three is a bit suspect, that's the output pin. Your cap is not connected with a numbered square like the other 555 connections, maybe that's upsetting your software ( no idea what you're using...). Where's the connection to pin 7? I think you should start from scratch, use the schematic posted by (*steve*) as a guide, that's about the most basic 555 hook up and it works.
 

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Moderator
Jan 21, 2010
25,505
Joined
Jan 21, 2010
Messages
25,505
I assumes that the numbered connections were something to do with points monitored. If you notice, there are some that are independent of the 555.

The labels seem correct. (but I am willing to be corrected)

"invalid floating point" is generally an error associated with entering a number incorrectly. If you haven't, then it may be a bug.
 

LTX71CM

May 23, 2010
182
Joined
May 23, 2010
Messages
182
The labels seem correct. (but I am willing to be corrected.

After a double check you look to be correct. You're also probably correct if it really is a "Floating Point Error".

The error in the picture is "Operating Point Not Found" though, I wonder if the OP missed a pin with one of his probes.
 
Top