Maker Pro
Maker Pro

(90-660) volt into (0-277) volt power supply

Status
Not open for further replies.

Henri_deleted

Jun 5, 2014
8
Joined
Jun 5, 2014
Messages
8
Hi folks!

I would like to know what electronic devices and how I should use to control the voltages between 90 and 660 in order to get between 0-277 (pure SIN)?

What do you think?
7144.PSproblem.jpg
 

BobK

Jan 5, 2010
7,682
Joined
Jan 5, 2010
Messages
7,682
Yep, that is why he is still alive after doing a lot of work with electronics. Your question indicates that you might not be so lucky.

Bob
 

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Moderator
Jan 21, 2010
25,510
Joined
Jan 21, 2010
Messages
25,510
The first electronic device you should employ is an engineer.

He would tell you that your specification is incomplete and would request details.

Firstly, he would want to know:
  • The input frequency
  • The output frequency
  • The nature of the input voltage (is this an RMS value?
  • The nature of the output voltage (Is this an RMS value?)
  • The maximum output current (or possibly power)
  • The source of the input power
He would also probably want to know the answer to the question "Why?" because that might prompt other questions, or suggest answers to some of the above.

Then he would warn you that:
  • The configuration you show is unlikely to be practical, and possibly not even feasible
  • Requiring an output voltage that could be both above and below a wide range of input voltages might entail double conversion
Then he would sit back and wait for you to answer all his questions before being able to do any more (and that "any more" might be "ask another round of questions").
 

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Moderator
Jan 21, 2010
25,510
Joined
Jan 21, 2010
Messages
25,510
Oh, and for advice on pure sin, I think that's in another realm of "expertise".
 

Henri_deleted

Jun 5, 2014
8
Joined
Jun 5, 2014
Messages
8
The first electronic device you should employ is an engineer.

He would tell you that your specification is incomplete and would request details.

Firstly, he would want to know:
  • The input frequency
  • The output frequency
  • The nature of the input voltage (is this an RMS value?
  • The nature of the output voltage (Is this an RMS value?)
  • The maximum output current (or possibly power)
  • The source of the input power
He would also probably want to know the answer to the question "Why?" because that might prompt other questions, or suggest answers to some of the above.

Then he would warn you that:
  • The configuration you show is unlikely to be practical, and possibly not even feasible
  • Requiring an output voltage that could be both above and below a wide range of input voltages might entail double conversion
Then he would sit back and wait for you to answer all his questions before being able to do any more (and that "any more" might be "ask another round of questions").


The details:

- input and output Frequency == 60 HZ
- input and output Voltage: RMS
- Max output current = max of 75 MA
- The source of the input power: step-down transformer from power plants!
 
Last edited:

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Moderator
Jan 21, 2010
25,510
Joined
Jan 21, 2010
Messages
25,510
75 MEGA AMPS!!!!! (I'll assume you meant mA (milli-amps).

So why does the transformer have a variable output from 90 to 660 volts? Surely your mains power is consistent?

And what are you powering?
 

Henri_deleted

Jun 5, 2014
8
Joined
Jun 5, 2014
Messages
8
75 MEGA AMPS!!!!! (I'll assume you meant mA (milli-amps).

So why does the transformer have a variable output from 90 to 660 volts? Surely your mains power is consistent?

And what are you powering?
Yes Steve. That's mili amp. I am not sure if I understood your point well. But, you mean why not using a transformer? Well, it is possible but I need a self-adjuster device to work in a wide range. As for the power consistency, what do you mean by "main power"?!
 

davenn

Moderator
Sep 5, 2009
14,232
Joined
Sep 5, 2009
Messages
14,232
Yes Steve. That's mili amp. I am not sure if I understood your point well. But, you mean why not using a transformer? Well, it is possible but I need a self-adjuster device to work in a wide range. As for the power consistency, what do you mean by "main power"?!


you haven't really given enough clear info on what you are trying to do

firstly ... what is the source of the 90-660VAC ?
and why would it be changing from 90 - 660?
secondly ... what is being powered by the 0-277 VAC output of the transformer ?

Dave
 

Henri_deleted

Jun 5, 2014
8
Joined
Jun 5, 2014
Messages
8
you haven't really given enough clear info on what you are trying to do

firstly ... what is the source of the 90-660VAC ?
and why would it be changing from 90 - 660?
secondly ... what is being powered by the 0-277 VAC output of the transformer ?

Dave
Dave!

the source of 90 to 660 volt AC is power from the network which goes to each unit of the building. (This power supply will be supposed as part of an electricity meter)
Because, the AC/DC converter that we have on the board accepts the voltages upto 277 volt max.

I am not sure if I understand your second question but this 0-277 should be converted to DC so the input of the converter is 0-277 volt AC.

Hope this helps!
 

davenn

Moderator
Sep 5, 2009
14,232
Joined
Sep 5, 2009
Messages
14,232
neither of those responses make sense ???

what network ?


I am not sure if I understand your second question but this 0-277 should be converted to DC so the input of the converter is 0-277 volt AC.

that really doesn't make sense ??

Dave
 

davenn

Moderator
Sep 5, 2009
14,232
Joined
Sep 5, 2009
Messages
14,232
Im closing this thread
you obviously have no idea what you are doing 'as you were told earlier by some one else GET AN ELECTRICAL ENGINEER
Some one trained and skilled in dealing with mains power situations

regards
Dave
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top