Maker Pro
Maker Pro

90v/100a DC Power Supply

Lester Thunder

Sep 8, 2016
Hello to all.
I'm new to electronics and to this site, as such my questions will be vague and I'll likely have to google educate on some of the terms used to answer my questions. Thanks in advance to all that wish to help.

I'm working on a redesign project from scratch. I need to run 3 motors (all variable speeds). These motors will be controlled in a fashion that they will receive voltage data from sensor arrays to adjust the speeds of each motor individually.

I've done a small amount of research on power supplies, VFDs and the like, but have yet to encounter what I think I may need. Each motor would need to be able to draw a max of 30-40 amps at a time (testing will give me the max amps per motor). So to the question...

Is there a way to build a 90v/100a DC Power Supply that would ba able to handle the load of all 3 motors at once...so that I don't have to build 3 different power supplies? I feel that it would be more cost effective to build 1 power supply.

Also, given the question above, what would be a logical path forward?

Minder

Apr 24, 2015
90vdc: so i assume you are using DC brushed motors?
They are fairly large current rating for a 90v motor, do you have them yet?
For 90vdc you would need around a 65vac source, if a regular linear supply.
Are the motors going to be drawing maximum current simultaneously?
The cheapest way would probably be to use a Diode/SCR bridge type controller, they can be connected directly across a 120vac service supply, KB market these for 9ov motors and they can be picked up on ebay fairly regularly, if necessary you could upgrade the bridge components to take care of the motor currents you are expecting.
Do you already have any controllers?
M.

Lester Thunder

Sep 8, 2016
I don't have the motors yet. My assumption is that the max amp draw would be around 30 amps and probably half that continuous. The motors will be brushless.