Maker Pro
Maker Pro

A bit tricky..

wcs61

Mar 29, 2013
..for me that is but should be a simple fix for some of you. I will try and explain what I am trying to do here without the vast knowledge of circuits and dialect.
What I what to fabricated is a 12v switching relay that is activiated by exactly 160ohms. This 160ohms will also continue to control another device at the same resistance since I will be splicing into the existing circuit for my coil feed.
So I believe what I will need is some sort of relay in which the coil is activated by 160ohms. Once activated the coil will close a set of contacts which in turn will allow 12volts to flow through the closed contacts to lets say a 12volt lamp @ 10amps+-.. Also I will need to maintain the resistance of the coil feed circuit @ 160ohms.
Any ideas? I'm sure this is a simple fix but again I am not that experienced with these types of circuits. Any help will be greatly appreciated!

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
a 12v switching relay that is activiated by exactly 160ohms
Ohm is a unit for resistance. A relay isn't activated by a resistor, but by a current (or voltage).
a set of contacts which in turn will allow 12volts to flow
Volt is a unit for voltage. Volts don't "flow". It is current that flows. Current is measured in Ampere (A).
without the vast knowledge of circuits and dialect.
Obviously it doesn't help not to have an understanding of the "dialect".
Instead of mixing units and twisting our brains, tell us what you want to do. It looks like your main idea is to light a 12V/10A light. Where does the signal come from that turns the relay on or off? What has all this to do with 160 Ohm?

Last edited:

shrtrnd

Jan 15, 2010
Yeah, you're going to need to specify what you're working with.
It sounds like you're using an AC relay to run an inductive circuit (though the circuit
is given to you in ohms, I would assume they mean impedance in an inductive circuit).
And you're using that to run a DC lamp circuit.